Why Take a Texas Hunter’s Education Course Online Before a Texas Big Game Hunting Experience?
It is beneficial for hunters to complete a Texas hunter’s education course online prior to their Texas big game hunting experiences. The course is recommended for hunters ages nine and older who have not completed a hunter’s education course in their state. In Texas, you are required by law to carry proof of hunter education certification on you at all times while hunting.
Do I Need Hunter Education Certification to Hunt on a Private Ranch?
Whether you are a Texas resident or out-of-state hunter, you must have a hunter education certification, regardless of where you intend to hunt. It also does not matter what type of game you are hunting.
Who Should Take the Online Hunter’s Education Course?
Anyone who was born on or after September 2, 1971, must successfully pass a hunter’s education course. For hunting families with children aged 9 to 16, it is highly recommended they also complete a hunter’s education course. Those aged 17 and older will also have to pass a hunter’s education course.
Are There Any Exceptions to Needing Hunter Education Certification?
There are a few exceptions allowed in the state of Texas. The first is if you are hunting with children under the age of nine. These young hunters must be accompanied by a person who is at least 17 years or older, has a valid Texas hunting license, and has passed their hunter’s education course.
The next exception is if you were born prior to September 2, 1971. In this case, you do not need to complete a hunter’s education course. However, it is still highly recommended, as you will learn about hunting laws specific to Texas.
There are also some exceptions if you are:
- Active military or have been honorably discharged
- Active duty or previously served in the Texas Army National Guard, Texas State Guard, or Texas Air National Guard
- Active or former law enforcers as defined by Article 2.12 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure
Can’t I Just Get a Hunter’s Education Certification Deferral?
A hunter’s education certification deferral is offered for hunters aged 17 and older who otherwise would be required to complete a hunter’s education course. It can only be obtained once, and it is valid until the end of the current hunting license year. Even with the deferral, you will still need to be accompanied by a person who is at least 17 years or older, has a valid Texas hunting license, and has passed their hunter’s education course.
Where Is My Texas Hunter’s Education Certification Recognized?
Your Texas hunter’s education certification is recognized in all fifty states, Puerto Rico, and Canada, as well as other foreign countries that have mandatory hunter’s education requirements.
Will I Still Need a Hunting License?
Yes, you will still need to purchase a hunting license for the type of game you are hunting.
Are There Any Additional Requirements After Taking the Course Online?
For children ages 9 to 17, in addition to passing the online hunter’s education course, you must also register and attend a Field Day to complete the hunting safety certification. Field Days are one-day courses offered in multiple locations throughout Texas.
As you can see, hunting exotic game in Texas or hunting other wildlife requires hunters to pass a hunter’s education course and carry their certification with them at all times. Completing the course online is the fastest and easiest way to earn your certification.
For assistance in finding where you can complete your hunter’s safety certification online, or to book exotic game and trophy whitetail hunts in Texas, please feel free to contact Montgomery Properties Ranch at 817-925-2234 today!